Tryst with Texture

Image

 

Image

Shoes: Lauren Ralph Lauren (DSW)/ Tights: Modcloth/Dress: H&M/Cardigan: Francescas/Necklace: Pitaya Boutique. 

I just took my Style Guru bio shot for College Fashionista.  These photos will accompany my 500-or-so word bio introducing myself would-be collegefashionista readers all over the country. Needless to say, the outfit choice was a stressful one.  I’m currently at home, enjoying my last two days of vacation before I ship off back to Ann Arbor.  My sartorial choice this morning consisted of me haphazardly grabbing clean clothes that I figured would make me look “Chic”.  At the very least, I wanted my outfit to say: “I’m a Style Guru writer, polished and professional, and I have totally not spent the past few days lying in bed watching What Not To Wear and only getting out for periodic food breaks” (spoiler alert, that’s all I have been doing.) 

Regardless, I am pleased with the end result. I am absolutely in LOVE with the H&M dress that I picked up this summer for an amazing thirteen dollars. It’s such a simple, flattering, silhouette that I believe even mrs Holly Golightly herself would have loved. I wear it year round, using any excuse I can. My graduation party, opening night of a show, weekend frat-hopping, a day of classes when I want to feel glamorous, the list goes on and on. It’s also the perfect canvas for pattern and texture, and I kind of played on that idea for the rest of this outfit. I already posted about how much I love these Modcloth tights, and I think the pattern came out great in the photo. They really add a dash of sophistication to any outfit, and are super-comfortable! The cardigan further built on the “texture” theme, I adore the pink color and “window pane” design on the front panel. (It was a birthday gift from my friend Emma, and I wear it frequently.) Finally, this necklace is SUPER playful, I had been stalking a similar Bauble Bar one for weeks in the fall before I found it at Pitaya, a boutique in downtown Ann Arbor. 

I can’t wait for my first collegefashionista post to go live and to see/meet all of the other Style Gurus! Well, now that I’ve done something productive today, it’s back to that Netflix grind. I do what I can. 

Much love,

Sarah

Leave a Reply

